Election of Russia to the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC)


On November 12, during the 68th session of the United Nations General Assembly 14 States were elected to the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC). Those elected for the period 2014-2016 were Algeria, Macedonia, Vietnam, China, Cuba, Maldives, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, France and South Africa.

The Russian Federation was elected by the majority of members (176 of 192 Member States) of the UN General Assembly through direct and secret ballot. According to the Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation to the United Nations Vitaly Churkin, Russia’s priorities at UNHRC for this period will be «combating racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and other forms of intolerance, human trafficking; promotion and protection of human rights and traditional values etc.»

Human Rights Council is the United Nations’ key forum for tackling entrenched human rights concerns around the world. Created by the General Assembly in May 2006 as the principal United Nations political body dealing with human rights, the Council replaced the UN Commission on Human Rights, abolished in June 2006, and consists of 47 elected Member States that are pledged to uphold the highest standards in the promotion and protection of human rights.

Source: ITAR-TASS News Agency