End of the election campaign to the Chamber of Deputies


The vote will take place next Sunday, October 20.

In the ballot parties are placed in the following order:

1: The Left (Déi Lénk) — left forces, equivalent of Die Linke in Germany;

2: The Alternative Democratic Reform Party (ADR) — populist Eurosceptic right party;

3: Luxembourg Communist Party (KPL) — faction that refused integration within Déi Lénk in 1999;

4: The Democratic Party (DP) — liberal party, equivalent of the FDP in Germany;

5: The Pirate Party (PPL) — local section of the International Pirate Party;

6: The Greens (Déi Gréng) — Green Party, equivalent to Die Greens in Germany;

7: Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party (LSAP) — social democratic party, equivalent of the SPD in Germany;

8: The Christian Social People’s Party (CSV) — Christian democratic part, equivalent of the CDU in Germany ;

9: The Party for Complete Democracy (PID) — recent split of ADR.

Political parties participating in the elections held dozens of meetings with voters in every corner of the country. During these meetings the pressing problems of domestic and foreign policy were discussed. Among them were the stimulation of the economy, the fight against unemployment, the fiscal policy, the wage indexation, the pension reform, the education, the constitutional reform, voting rights for foreigners. The parties have tried to find a compromise between them on these issues.

Last days of the campaign were particularly hot. Jean-Claude Juncker (CSV), Etienne Schneider (LSAP), Xavier Bettel (DP), François Bausch (Déi Gréng) — the leaders of four parties most likely to form the new government — organized final debates on TV and on the pages of newspapers to attract voters.