Luxembourg politician Anne Brasseur to chair Council of Europe’s Parliamentary Assembly


On January 27 Anne Brasseur (DP) has been voted president of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) in Strasbourg. This marks the first time that a Luxembourg national chairs PACE. Anne Brasseur won against UK candidate Robert Walter and will succeed French «Union for a Popular Movement» deputy Jean-Claude Mignon. She has been elected for a period of two years.

 The Council of Europe was established in 1949 and brings together representatives from 47 countries. It is separate from the European Union and, unlike the EU, cannot pass any binding laws. PACE is a statutory organ and represents the political forces of its member states, similar to the European parliament. It counts 321 principal members and the same number of substitutes. It provides a platform of dialogue between the parliaments of member states and countries with observer status. Its work provides a basis for the Committee of Ministers, the Council’s decision-making body comprised of the foreign ministers or diplomatic representatives of all member states.