The Games of the Small States of Europe

From 27 of May to 1 of June 2013 Luxembourg hosts the XV Games of the Small States of Europe. The event, organized by the Luxembourg Olympic and Sports Committee, will bring together more than 800 athletes for five days of competition.

All European countries, members of the European Olympic Committee and with population less than a million people are taking part. Eight countries meet these criteria. This is Iceland, Andorra, Cyprus, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco and San Marino, that capital hosted the first GSSE in 1985. In 2009 a ninth state joined the list of participating countries: Montenegro. Each of the states has already organized at least once GSSE. For 2013, as in 1995 already, the Luxembourg is a host country.